County LogoClallam County, Washington

Solid Waste Advisory Committee

Meeting Agendas   |   Meeting Minutes

Purpose: Assists in the implementation of programs and policies concerning solid waste handling and disposal, and reviews and comments on proposed changes to the Comprehensive Solid Waste Management Plan.

Membership: Comprised of ten representatives; one from each of the incorporated cities, the waste industry, tribal councils, Clallam County, state and federal agencies, private industry, agricultural community and one at-large. Waste industry representatives serve one-year rotating terms. State RCW 70.95.165 codifies the SWAC membership and purpose. View the Clallam County SWAC bylaws here.

SWAC meetings are open to the public in person and virtually. Meeting links can be found at the top of the agenda posted above. Meetings are held the fourth Wednesday of every other month at 3 p.m. in the Commissioner's Board Room at the Clallam County Courthouse Room 160.

2022 Meeting Schedule: TBD

Sign up to receive emails about SWAC meetings by contacting Clallam County Public Works at 360-417-2441.

Title Name Alternate Term
At Large Christy Cox Vacant 12/31/2023 & 12/31/2021
City of Sequim Rachel Anderson Ann Soule Standing
Waste Industry Vacant Vacant 12/31/2022
Waste Industry Vacant Brian Tate 12/31/2021 & 12/31/2023
Tribal Councils Vacant Vacant 12/31/2022
City of Port Angeles Charlie McCaughan LaTrisha Suggs Standing
Clallam County Mark Ozias David Hanna Standing
City of Forks Rod Fleck Vacant Standing
Business Community Steven Johnson Vacant 12/31/2022
Agriculture Community Arleen Jensen Vacant 12/31/2022/12/31/2023

Clallam County Solid Waste Management Plan Update

The current Comprehensive Solid Waste Management Plan (CSWMP) was updated in 2014. The CSWMP reflects the current state of the local solid waste system and assists SWAC and other solid waste stakeholders in solid waste management activities such as making informed recommendations, obtaining solid waste handling permits, and qualifying for Ecology Local Solid Waste Financial Assistance funding or other financial assistance programs.

The cities and county, along with voluntary participation from tribes, are working on an update of the CSWMP to be completed in 2021. Review drafts of the update and find more information on this webpage: Clallam County Solid Waste Management Plan Update.


View the current Comprehensive Solid Waste Management 2014 Update here.


Last updated: 4/20/2022